I received the following message: I was surprised, and although I do not know when exactly this had happened, it could probably have been after the Windows 8.1 upgrade, which I had carried out only two days back. I checked if the MS Office cache files (MSOCache hidden folder) were still present on my System Drive. They were there! I tried to run the Office Pro setup from there but recieved this error:

Anyway, this happens because your Office installation may have got corrupted due to certain reasons, and the software update cache registration may be missing from the following registry subkey: If you do face such a situation, then you might want to try the following troubleshooting steps.

This update packet could not be opened

1] Repair Microsoft Office programs 2] Download and run Microsoft Fixit 50123. You will get its download link at KB932857. It will basically direct you to the Program Install and Uninstall Troubleshooter. A manual way has also been given at the said KB article. Else download the Fix It to Uninstall Microsoft Office and Office 365. 3] If nothing helps, uninstalling and reinstalling Microsoft Office may be the only option left. Let us know what worked for you. How to fix Please wait while Windows configures Microsoft Office message may also interest you.